CILICE -Deranged Headtrip


  1. God of Lies
  2. Left Hemisphere
  3. Right Hemisphere
  4. Mental Breakdown
  5. Drone
  6. Golem Servants
  7. Chernobyl
  8. MaLiCe
  9. Psychotic Mindwarp

Daniel De Jongh: vocals, Theo Holsheimer: rhytm and lead guitars, Remko van der Spek: bass and rhytm guitars, Philipp Moser: drums

Album Reviews

Review Summary: CiLiCe push the envelope with the album which is so superbly conceived and realized that it may appear impossible to surpass by any metal band this year.

They couldn't name their debut album more aptly. "Deranged Headtrip" is a crazed, psychotic and totally mind-bending release that defies expectations. On the surface, Dutch outfit CiLiCe play mad math metal as they prefer to call their style. Heavily influenced by Meshuggah and Dillinger Escape Plan, their music is defined by a permeating sonic assault, mechanical riffs and frequent time signature changes. Calling CiLiCe math metal is a severe understatement though. They tend to be experimental, progressive and not so easy to label.

The level of musicianship is top-notch with all members contributing to their carefully structured, richly-layered compositions containing the variety of passages ranging from trippy and cacophonic to supremely melodic. The melody is retained through both classical guitar soloing and outstanding vocals. Daniel de Jongh is definitely a standout member of the band delivering surprisingly versatile performance. He superbly uses his voice whatever technique he's employing from mercilessly biting growls, through devilish whispering, to melodious clean singing. In this last mode his vocals resemble Mike Patton's harmonies, which can only be regarded as a compliment.

With their superb technical skills, instrumentalists never sacrifice the cohesiveness of the album in favor of showy performances. Instead, they compose actual songs that depart significantly from ordinary structures, yet are not undecipharable binary codes of sound, which is the case with many bands playing math metal. Besides, CiLiCe still manage to create their own hybrid of sound that frequently relies on industrial and progressive aesthetics. As for industrial, the album abounds with samples and synths that create inhumanely gloomy atmosphere throughout. The most notable example of this type of playing is "Drone", a sinister, dark ballad amped with an effective use of chello. The progressive influences are the most hearable in constantly evolving "Left/Right Hemisphere" as well as "Malice" that almost entirley relies on groove. "Mental Breakdown" finds the band in their most schizophrenic mode with distinctively syncopated vocals by de Jongh, while the riffs in "Golem Servants" reference a more straight-forward approach of Pantera.

Overall, "Deranged Headtrip" dares to be the most refreshing metal release of the year. CiLiCe truly push the envelope with the album which is so superbly conceived and realized that it may appear impossible to surpass by any metal band this year. The bar has just been set ridiculously high.
Greg Fisher 'Sputnik Music'